Local Soroptimists going strong after 10 years

New board members for Soroptimist International of Evanston are Past President Harriet Beck, Directors-at-Large Mary Boal and Diana English, Wendy Schuler standing in for Secretary Stacey Fry, Treasurer Cheryl Cranford, President-Elect Jessica Kendrick and President Wendy Sather. (HERALD PHOTO/Kayne Pyatt)

EVANSTON — Soroptimists International of Evanston celebrated its 10-year anniversary on Tuesday, July 12, with a party and installation of new board members. The formal event was held at the Depot at 6 p.m. and guests and members were treated to a grand buffet.

Evanston Soroptimists President Wendy Sather presided over the evening’s presentations. She began by introducing two Soroptimist members from the Ogden chapter who were attending, Ellie Syme-Quayle and Michelle Nielsen. The two had helped to start the Evanston chapter 10 years ago.

“Did you all know that Soroptimist International is the only service organization represented at the United Nations?” Sather said.

Sather then asked everyone present to answer the question, “What woman in your life has made you strong?” Nearly all of the women cited their mothers first then added grandmothers, sisters, daughters, women writers and women from history.

During a question and answer period, Evanston City Councilman Mike Sellers dropped in. Harriet Beck had extended invitations to the mayor and city council to attend the party and Sellers came to congratulate the club and thank members for their contributions to the community.

Sather then asked members who had earned a 10-year pin to come together at the front of the room to be recognized. Those who earned their 10-year pin were: Harriet Beck, Katie Beppler, Mary Boal, Lynne Fox, Tammy Koncitik, Joice Mander, Helen Mertz and Wendy Schuler. 

Sather showed a video presentation of the history of the Evanston chapter including the events they have sponsored and the scholarship winners they’ve awarded. Also, on a table near the entrance to the depot were scrapbooks filled with photos and news releases of Evanston Soroptimist history.

Last on the agenda for the evening was the installation of new board members; they are: President Wendy Sather, President-Elect Jessica Kendrick, Secretary Stacey Fry, Treasurer Cheryl Cranford, Directors-at-Large Mary Boal and Diana English and Past President Harriet Beck.    

Sather led all in the Soroptimist pledge, and the evening’s festivities were concluded with dessert — a birthday cake for the club.


Video News
More In Homepage