Horizon graduates 10

Members of this year’s Horizon High School graduating class celebrate during a graduation ceremony last week. Pictured are (sitting) Julian Delgadillo and Jeffery “Ryan” Lynn Church; (standing) Coleton Powell, Miguel Anaya Rios, Savannah Jean Harris, A’Kira Renae Leland, Raymond Church, Summer Thompson and Nikkole Wallace. (HERALD PHOTO/Kayne Pyatt)

EVANSTON — Horizon High School’s 2022 seniors celebrated during their graduation ceremony on Thursday, May 26. The ceremony was held outside the front of the school with family, friends, teachers and staff sitting on chairs facing a stage decorated with flowers, balloons and a huge sign with “22” on it hanging above the stage.

Nine out of 10 graduates were in attendance and lined up at the end of the sidewalk for the procession to their chairs. At exactly 6 p.m., the students marched in a line and took their seats.  Principal Shad Hamilton greeted the graduates and welcomed the guests.

After leading the Pledge of Allegiance, Hamilton thanked each student and shared a special memory or story about each one with the audience before introducing the class valedictorian Jeffery “Ryan” Church.

Church thanked the teachers, staff and fellow students. He reflected on the good times and memories they had made together and ended by saying, “I hope we will all meet again when we’re all rich.”

Student body president A’Kira Leland was the next speaker.

“We have worked hard and today we are celebrating the milestone of completing high school,” Leland said. “We will have many milestones to achieve in life so remember to celebrate all of them.”

IT teacher Jared Lundholm was picked by the students as a speaker. Lundholm encouraged the graduates to “make us proud.” He suggested they try several different occupations in order to explore possibilities and to find their path in life. He ended his speech with the Horizon motto: “rise above your story.”

Hamilton announced Coleton Powell as salutatorian and Church as the recipient of the Hathaway Provisional Opportunity Level scholarship. CTE certifiers were Church, for culinary arts; and Raymond Church and Leland both in Fundamentals of Construction.

Uinta County School District No. 1 Superintendent Ryan Thomas certified the diplomas and said the graduates had met all requirements for graduation. School board member Christa Barker handed the students their diplomas as they came up onto the stage after Hamilton announced each graduate. The guests applauded and cheered as each student received their diploma.

This year’s graduates from Horizon High School include Miguel Anaya Rios, Jeffery “Ryan” Church, Raymond Church, Julian Delgadillo, Armando Javier Echeverria , Savannah Jean Harris, A’Kira Renae Leland, Coleton Powell, Summer Thompson and Nikkole Wallace.


Video News
More In Homepage