Council conducts annual business, confirming appointments

Evanston City Councilmen Evan Perkes, Tim Lynch and Mike Sellers take the oath of office during last week’s city council meeting. Each of them was re-elected last November. (HERALD PHOTO/Kayne Pyatt)

EVANSTON — The first item on the Jan. 5 agenda for the Evanston City Council’s first meeting of the 2021 was the swearing in of three re-elected council members — Tim Lynch, Evan Perkes, and Mike Sellers. Evanston City Clerk Diane Harris conducted the ceremony.

Following that ceremony was the council’s unanimous approval of appointments of city department heads, attorneys and municipal judges.

Those appointments are: Chief of Police Jon Kirby; Director of Engineering and Planning Dean Barker; Director of Public Works Gordon Robinson; Community Development Director Rocco O’Neill; City Treasurer Trudy Lym; City Clerk/HR/Executive Assistant Diane Harris; City Attorney Dennis Boal; City Prosecutor Amanda Kirby; Municipal Judge Mark Harris; and alternate Municipal Court Judge Clayton Thomas.

Mayor Kent Williams and council members thanked the appointees for their past service and dedication to the city.

Election of the city council president for 2021 followed the appointments. Tib Ottley was the single nomination and was unanimously elected.

The only item for discussion and approval was Resolution 20-98, brought to the council by Robinson.

“This is our annual SCADA service agreement renewal contract with WETCO, Inc. to provide maintenance services for the SCADA system in the wastewater treatment plant and water treatment plant,” Robinson said.

Resolution 20-98 was unanimously approved.

The meeting ended with an exchange of compliments and thank yous by city officials as they expressed wishes for a better year ahead for the city.


Video News
More In Homepage